Cheap & Easy Vegetarian Tacos

vegetarian tacos

This recipe was given to me by one of my very best friends, Brittiny Morris. She’s a wizard at making the most delicious food on the cheap!

This taco filling is hyper versatile and one of the easiest things you can make.  As long as you have the rice, lentils, and water the flavors can be changed based on what is in your spice cabinet! For example, I did not have minced onion to put in it today, so I just added onion powder to taste. And usually this is made with powdered bouillon to taste, but I only had cubes, so I just dissolved one in the three cups of water.

 

3/4 Cup {raw} Lentils

1/2 Cup {raw} Rice

1/4 Cup Minced Onion

3 Cups Water

Bouillon added to water, to taste

1/2 tsp Basil

1/4 tsp Oregano

1/4 tsp Thyme

1/4 tsp Garlic Powder

Mix all ingredients together in a 9×13 pan. Cover with foil. Bake at 300 degrees for 2 to 2 1/2 hours, or until rice and lentils are cooked (in my oven it only took about 1 hour and 45 minutes!) Serve in tortillas, as taco filling.

Leave a comment