The Big 3-0!

I finally hit the big 3-0! Weight loss, not age… yet.
30

I have been dying to write this post for weeks! I have been so close to 30 lbs. down I could taste it! I guess I might have tasted it a little sooner if I hadn’t tasted so many donuts, pizza, candy, and sodas the past few weeks. It was slow coming but it came none the less!
I have gotten behind on my set goal of 40 lbs. down by June, but I am determined that I am going to hit this mark by my birthday (July 3rd). To do this I am going to have to tighten the reins A LOT! It is completely possible to lose another 10 lbs. in 3 1/2 weeks but it is going to take some major focus.
Right now my calories are sitting at 1461 a day. For the rest of the month I am cutting these down to 1000. Don’t freak out, this is plenty for me to live on! I usually end up eating about 400 calories of junk food throughout the day anyway. This June plan will just cut out the junk.

I plan on not counting calories or exercising on Sundays. I want to make sure my body doesn’t “lock-up” on me. So I am giving it a rest from diet and exercise once a week. I will still watch what I eat on Sunday, I am just not going to stress about only eating 1000 calories.

I am also upping my workout to an everyday event, instead of every other day (or lately, a whenever I feel like it) event. This will be the hardest thing for me to change. As you all know, I H-A-T-E exercise! I thought the more I did it or the lighter I became then the more I would like it but no. I still dread every time I have to step on the treadmill or do a push-up. I just don’t enjoy it. I have “better” things to do. I don’t like being sweaty and it hurts. Yeah, I am a baby, and there will probably be a whinny post about exercise in the future! Exercising every day is going to be a fight. But I REALLY want to hit this first goal!

I am proud of what God has helped me accomplish so far with eating and exercising but I know I can do much better. Bringing my body under subjection and becoming more disciplined is a hard thing to do. But we are told to in the scripture. Does that mean you can never eat cake, pizza, or hot Cheetos? NO! Does that mean if you are a little out of your “optimum weight” range that you are a blasted sinner? NO! Obsessing over every little thing you put in your mouth or every ounce on then the scale is self-absorption and is just as much a sin as not caring at all!

We as humans are too often extremist. We either have a “don’t care” attitude, or we nit-pick and tear down ourselves and others. Both ends of the spectrum are wrong. God made you who you are. He is the one who allowed your body to do things that cause you to gain or lose weight. He is the one who didn’t give you much of a butt, or gave you to big of a chest! He doesn’t want you to fill your head with what the world says you should be. Instead he wants you to understand and appreciate your body. Take care of it and treat it like it is something God entrusted you with. Exercise because it makes you strong. If needed, lose weight because it makes your body healthier. And when you are doing your part, rest in what God has given you. Maybe you are older and can’t get back to your 30-year-old weight, maybe you had a baby and find your hips are bigger now. Even as a little girl I had HUGE calves! That’s not going to change and it’s okay! Do your best for God and be happy with what He gives you.

This endeavor to lose weight may have started as a “have to” but it has quickly opened my eyes to being what God wants me to be and not stressing about the rest. Sure, I get caught up in “does my butt look big” just as much as the next person. But when thoughts of not being good enough pass through my mind, I am learning to just let them keep on going. In one ear and out the other. If I am pleasing God with my eating and exercising habits, then I am on the right track!

I’m not doing the full body “look how fat I was” thing. LOL. But here is a before and after headshot šŸ˜‰ (Pete has lost 40!)
1527908_10202930315644666_1400201156_n

20140519_194039

leah tag

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

