Pumpkin Pancakes & Apple Cider Syrup

Yep. You read that right! It is the ULTIMATE FALL BREAKFAST! Originally, I was just looking for a good Pumpkin Pancake recipe, but then I stumbled upon this jewel – Apple Cider Syrup! I happened to have quite a bit of apple cider left over, so this was the perfect way to use it up. The pairing of the cakes and syrup was amazing (It tastes just like fall.) I love pancakes but sometimes they are just too sweet for me. This syrup balances the taste between sweet and tangy!

Pumpkin Pancakes 1

These are going to become a household tradition for us!  We had a lot of syrup left over so I am thinking I may use it as a ham glaze. It’s so delicious I might just drink it.

Pumpkin Pancakes: Yields about 10-12 cakes

1 1/2 cups flour

3 t baking powder

1 t salt

1 T sugar

1 T Pumpkin Pie Spice (or more to taste)

1 1/4 cups milk

1 egg

3 T butter, melted

1 t vanilla (or more to taste)

4 T Pumpkin Puree (or more to taste)

Stir all dry ingredients in a large bowl. Add remaining ingredients and mix well (until mostly smooth)

Scoop about 1/4 cup of batter onto a slightly greased  and heated* griddle or cast iron skillet. I recommend using real oil or butter spread to grease the pan. Sprays tend to make the cakes taste funny.

When the batter begins to bubble on top of the cake, flip. The cake is done when sides look dry.

* The secret to perfectly cooked pancakes is to cook them on a low to medium heat. It has taken me years to figure out that I don’t have to cook everything on high!  If you start getting brown patches on your cakes, turn it down.

Apple Cider Syrup: Yields…more than enough!

1 C sugar

3 T cornstarch

4 C Apple Cider (I hear it is good with Apple Juice too!)

1 t Pumpkin Pie Spice

1 t vanilla

Put all ingredients in medium sauce pan. Mix well and smooth out clumps. Boil until desired consistency is reached, stir often. Remove from heat.

Let me know what your family thinks! Enjoy!

Dani Tag

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: Our Fall Bucket List | bowlfulloffun

Leave a Reply

