Vanilla Cinnamon Pancakes

My family LOVES to eat breakfast for dinner or, in today’s case, lunch. Unfortunately, this meal is usually very high in calories. Since we started counting calories I assumed this favorite meal would have to be a thing of the past. In an effort to stay on my grocery budget this month I planned on eating breakfast for dinner two times this month. I thought if nothing else we would just have to cut back and eat a small portion. However, I ended up taking my favorite pancake recipe and making a lower calorie version instead! I promise you, I could not tell the difference! These pancakes looked, smelled, and tasted every bit of the original and with only 97 calories each! So, I decided to share the recipe with you 🙂

image

Vanilla Cinnamon Pancakes

Ingredients:

1 1/4 cups flour (I used wheat flour but the calorie difference isn’t much, use what you have)

1 t. baking powder

1 t. baking soda

1/4 t. salt

1 egg, beaten

1 cup water

1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce

1/4 cup sugar

1/2 t. cinnamon

1 TBSP Vanilla

Steps:

1) Stir together flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt.

2) Add egg, water, applesauce, sugar, cinnamon, and vanilla. Stir until smooth.

3) Cook on a medium-hot griddle, lightly sprayed with non-stick cooking spray.

I used a little less than 1/2 cup of the batter for each pancake. Each cake was 5-6in in diameter. Be sure and spread the batter out a little bit with a spoon immediately after dropping it on the griddle. These pancakes puff up a lot!

This recipe makes 9 pancakes and each pancake is approximately 97 calories

____________________________________________________________________________________________

We topped our pancakes with applesauce and bananas! It was so yummy! The “cost” for the entire meal pictured here, with 3 slices of turkey bacon, 2 boiled eggs, 3 pancakes, 1/2 cup applesauce, and 1/2 banana, was 638 calories. That was a HUGE meal that normally would have set us back at least 1,000 calories if not more! The best part of the whole thing is that I didn’t feel sluggish or bogged down after eating this rich, breakfast meal and normally I would have.

leah tag

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: So, You’re Living On a Shoe String? | bowlfulloffun

Leave a Reply

