One of THOSE days.

grumpy cat

Being on a diet can get mighty depressing if you let it. Today was one of those days! It always happens about 2 weeks in. I get sick of the measuring, the more limited choices, the littler portions, and being conscious of every little thing I put in my mouth. I just want to eat everything in sight. Is that really to much to ask? Just a little binge. Or maybe go out to eat and not worry about looking at the nutrition facts and just order what I feel like eating. Oh resolve where have you gone? Yep, it was definitely one of those days!

It started out as one of those days when I woke up this morning. I just wasn’t right. I started the day later than usual and I was tired and draggy. It was a day that normally I would have started with a LARGE bowl of my favorite cereal, just to make me feel a little better. Not today though. Today I was greeted with my no-calorie hot tea. ugh. I love the tea, don’t get me wrong, it was just not a day for hot tea. It was a day for cereal.

My plan for lunch was to make ham sandwiches. I waited to make lunch until later than usual because I had some errands to run. By the time I made it to the kitchen we were all hungry and the grumpy me had begun to set in. When I realized we were down to 3 slices of bread, I had just about had it! Now, normally right about then my diet and budget would have been blown. I would have jumped in the car frustrated and hungry and raced to the nearest “fat food” place and ordered whatever the heck I wanted. But, today I said no. I saw this coming, mounting up little by little until the top was about to bust and when it got to the pivotal point I had the strength to say no. I have been praying about this change in eating and I know that God really helped me today to not go crazy. Seriously, that is the only explanation because I know me and I know what I do. It had to be a God thing.

Pete sweetly came in the kitchen and helped me find something else for lunch. We ended up eating ham quesadillas on corn tortillas with a little queso to dip them in (577 calories). Not the most gourmet meal but it filled us. The bad attitude did show several times in the day. My poor family. But, in the end we were able to eat at home all day and stay on track with our calories. For supper we enjoyed one of our favorite meals, Cream Cheese Chili Chicken (w/1 cup. rice, 669 calories). Afterwards we were even able to have a few cookies that I had made.

It may not seem like much to anyone, but this was a huge accomplishment for me. THOSE day’s have defeated me for far to long! I am so glad to realize that even with this food plan  “There hath no temptation taken you (me) but such as is common to man: but God is faithful, who will not suffer you to be tempted above that ye are able; but will with the temptation also make a way to escape, that ye (I) may be able to bear it.” (1 Corinthians 10:13).

Now if I can just give Him that attitude… 🙂

leah tag

Leave a Reply

