Eating… A Hard Habit To Break

I promised I would write a post about my “diet”.  Pete is insisting that I shouldn’t call it a diet but a life change. I think that sounds a little odd so I am going to call it my “food plan”. That is really all it is.  Instead of eating whatever I want, whenever I want, however much I want. I now have a plan that I make for myself every day. I tell myself what to eat, how much to eat, and when to eat it. It is a little work but I have to take control. No, really! I HAVE to take control!

imagesYFS24XCG

For the sake of putting it all out there, let me give you a little back ground about me and my food problems/plan. When I was growing up I surrounded myself with very tiny, very skinny friends. Not for any reason other than we were friends. When most of us became friends I wasn’t even aware of what weight or being over weight was! But eventually this paired with the fact that I grew faster than most kids my age helped give me a little bit of a complex. I never really beat myself up about it but it was always in my mind.

When I turned 13 we moved to a new town and I found it very hard to make friends. So guess what I did. I watched a lot of T.V. and ate! I gained some weight and stayed that way until about 16 when I decided I didn’t like being as big as I was and needed to go on a diet. Liking a certain boy may have helped me make that decision as well!  I started a low carb diet. On this diet I could eat whatever I wanted as long as it was within one hour of the day. The rest of the day I could eat anything without carbs. Sounded great to me! I got to where I would only eat in my carb hour. And I mean I would pig out! And I actually lost weight! In the end I lost about 30 lbs. but ended up feeling sick all the time because of the crazy eating habits I had developed.

At 17 I graduated and moved out of my parents house to go to college. I didn’t know anything about a “freshman 15” at the time but I sure did gain it!  By 18 I was engaged, going to college, and working. No time to care about what I was eating.

I married my husband a month before my 19th birthday and very unexpectedly became pregnant shortly after. At the time I found out I was pregnant I was about 20lbs. over my ideal weight. I didn’t care terribly much. I was happy.

I didn’t worry about weight when I was pregnant because everyone kept telling me that it isn’t hard to get your baby weight off with the first kid. What they and I didn’t know was that I would have a lot of problems with my thyroid after having Landon, making it near impossible to lose anything.

I gained 50lbs. (!!!) while pregnant and even after giving birth to a 7.5 lb. baby, I did not lose 1 lb.! So there I was, a good 70 lbs. over my “ideal weight”. And I stayed there. I stayed there for 8 years. Not really gaining or losing. I would diet sometimes and lose some but I would get tired of it and let myself go back to the old ways and gain it back.

This past summer was the first time in eight years that I gained anything to speak of. It was a VERY busy summer! Maybe the busiest we have ever had! We had all of our normal summer activities, camps, vbs, revival, birthdays, anniversary, vacation. But we also added my job which required me to take several day trips, Baseball All Stars,  an extra trip to an association meeting and so on and so on. Which meant a LOT of ball park food and eating out. And guess who is the lucky girl who gained another 20 lbs! Yep, so the grand total over my “ideal weight” a WHOPPING 90 lbs. Yes, that is super embarrassing to say but hey, its the truth.

So, I decided to tackle a smaller portion of this weight loss this year. I had decided on 40 lbs. for my goal for the year. I thought that if I only had to think about losing and maintaining 40 lbs. it would be a lot easier on my brain. Come to find out, God decided to encourage me! This encouragement came in the form of a phone call with my new insurance company. Turns out they are going to be charging me an extra $80 a month until I qualify for a better program. Guess how much weight I have to lose to qualify… 40lbs! So, What depressed me for a day 🙂 is actually a really good thing. I now feel like I have no other choice but to lose the weight, my pocket book simply cannot take the hit!’

My husband and I have started counting calories. I plan all of our meals and snacks (if any) at least a day ahead to make sure that we are staying within our calorie budgets and to help me stay motivated to cook at home! We have been doing this for exactly a week today and I have lost 3.6lbs. and Pete has lost 4lbs.

Lots of people don’t like to count calories but I prefer this compared to other dieting plans that have a ridged meal plan. This way I can eat what I want in moderation which I feel is a good way to teach me good eating habits for the long run.

Well, there it is! This is the beginning of my life being full of fun instead of food!

2 Comments

  1. praying for you Leah- it is hard to loose weight– I struggle with it my whole life to maintain after loosing 40 lbs. It is worth it… you will feel better physically, emotionally and spiritually. God tells us our body is HIS temple– I don’t want GOD to live in a junky unkept temple- this is my motivation. Exercise is also important…even if it is only 15 minutes 3 times a day (that is easier than 45 minutes at once).
    When you’re weary, trouble or heavy hearted- TELL IT TO JESUS…. ❤

Leave a Reply

